Skip to content

Asus 701 (Eee) update

Yes, I’m definitely excited about my Asus 701 (Eee)!

I was unable to use my Eee as much as I wanted this week, but I managed to write a couple of posts on it. I really like the keyboard, but there’s room for improvement with the trackpad, the display, and the webcam.

It turns out that my trackpad problems are related to updating the BIOS and that the solution (for now) is to avoid the lowest and highest sensitivity settings.

The display is fine for a $399 device but I’m looking forward to more brighness/contrast, more surface area (10″), and more resolution (1024×600) in future versions.

As you can see in my video and Kevin Tofel’s video, the webcam’s frame rate is quite poor, unfortunately.

Here’s an update of what I’ve done so far…

Software:
– Enabled full desktop mode
– Looked into enabling Bluetooth and dialup support in Xandros Linux
– Looked into installing Windows XP

Hardware:
– Upgraded the memory from 512 MB to 1 GB
– Added an 8 GB SDHC card
– Looked into installing an internal USB Bluetooth module via the MDC slot
– Looked into installing an internal HSDPA modem, SIM holder and antenna via the spare mini PCIe slot
– Looked into installing an internal ExpressCard SSD via the spare mini PCIe slot

6 thoughts on “Asus 701 (Eee) update Leave a comment

  1. So, you like the keyboard? In most of the reviews I’ve read, the keyboard is painted as being a possible dealbreaker due to poor quality. Since I’ve been looking at the eee pc as a portable writing machine (I’m a writer), I was wondering if you could go into a little more detail about what you like about the keyboard?

  2. I like the keyboard, personally. I have small hands, though, and it might be difficult to use for someone with larger hands. I find it quite easy to touch type on it.
    I had to hook up to a large monitor to get my settings for email, though. The option to leave emails on the server is not available by default, and you can’t see those settings unless you use a larger monitor and a higher resolution.

  3. Have yourself or any other viewers of this site got the Asus eee working as a thin client on edubuntu 7.10 or similar.

    I have been trying all x-mas and it hangs after the splash screen saying it can’t find the drivers?

    Thanks for any help you can bring.

Leave a comment